Technology + Ymin

I don’t think there’s any doubt that your theology & philosophy of ministry are the two single most important pieces to effective ministry. However, there’s another piece that, while it’s not as important, will certainly save you some headaches. What I’m talking about, of course, is technologyThe thing is, there’s a thousand different ways you can use a thousand different tools, and so you need to learn to use the right ones, in the right ways. 

I’ve been a fumbling fool in ministry for what’s getting to be a long time now, but I think I’m finally beginning to learn my way around the block a little bit. If you’re like me, then you gotta keep pressing on until you master these tools of the trade. Don’t be afraid to try new ones, either. And as you move forward in ministry, I think you’ll find that the ibuprofen bottle doesn’t empty as quickly as it used to.

Many people have written about these before, but I’m going to share with you how they’ve worked for me in youth ministry. In upcoming posts I’ll show you how I use Evernote, Dropbox (sign up here and we’ll both get an extra 250 MB of space), Remember The Milk, Google Docs (now with Google+ collaboration), Constant Contact, Read It Later, and possibly more. I’ll also tell you how to get more out of your smartphone, tablet, and Kindle. I’m sure Facebook and Twitter will find their way throughout these posts as well.

First up will be what I consider a must-use tool, which acts as my second brain: Evernote. If you haven’t yet, go create an account and get your feet wet. It’s free!

Post coming soon.

Leave a Reply

