Lent + a Bike = what?

It wasn’t until I started working for the Lutheran church that I even participated in Lent. Mainly, the act of giving up something secular in order to replace it with something spiritual. Lent is the 40 day journey that begins with Ash Wednesday and ends at Easter. And every year I find myself struggling with what to give up, and why. Should I give up chocolate? Fast food? Getting angry with others? Shaving? Using deodorant? I don’t know. But whatever it is, I’m supposed to somehow feel closer with God. And often I find myself in the same place as when I started. So far, this year is no exception.

My sister-in-law and a friend were in town this past week and they suggested (maybe jokingly) that I give up my car for Lent. The conversation led to some ideas about simply riding a bike to work (it’s only 2 miles) and blogging about my experiences during the 40 days. It could be funny (like pull a radio flyer wagon full of groceries, while wearing spandex) or serious (use it to teach about the meaning of Lent).

Well, courtesy of the Tremose crew, I got a bike. the bike And today I rode it to work, which only took me 9 minutes (sometimes it takes longer to drive). I can’t say at this point that I’m sure of what I will share through the blog, but I’ll try to give a little insight into the Lenten journey. I’ll attempt to answer the question, why am I riding a bike? Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Lent + a Bike = what?

Leave a Reply

